Fun Times At Fraser Island

When I was in Brisbane I had the pleasure of taking the trip to Fraser Island to see the sights.

I had been told that when I was in Australia I ABSOLUTELY HAD TO go, and I shortened the list of millions of things I had to do, cutting down Manly Beach and cropping some of the others, but kept Surfers Paradise and Fraser Island.

To say I was disappointed at Surfers Paradise would be an understatement. I imagined toned Australian surfer dudes in the waves. As a lover of surfing, it was all I wanted. I got Irish people. I don’t dislike Irish people, but I wasnt expecting them there, and to the detriment of my Aussie surfers. I didn’t hear a single Australian accent!

But I plodded on to Fraser.

I wasnt disappointed. My first love is that you pretty much have to have a 4×4 to get around, due to the vast plains of sand that meet you on the island. Fantastic! Felt like a safari!

I took a tour that was organised seeing as I made the trip by myself (my friend who I stayed with had a three-month old baby at the tine) which took us to Lake McKenzie where we swam and sun bathed, through Central Station, Wanggoolba Creek and to Seventy Five Mile Beach.

Seventy Five Mile Beach is famous for its coloured sands (stunning) and also the cruise ship wreck (above) Maheno. It provides a haunting yet beautiful view from the coastline, and you can snorkel around it to see the wildlife that has taken residence there. I’m glad I hadn’t risked not taking travel insurance though; I trod on an anemone and had to have some painful First Aid to remove all its little poky bits from my foot!

As you can see, Fraser Island is absolutely stunning.  I was right not to cut it off my trip when I visited Brisbane, and I am so glad I went. If you ever get the chance then make sure you take the trip, its amazing!!

Don’t forget, there are still a few days left to enter the competition. Simply follow the blog and me on Twitter (@toesfullofsand) and tweet #sandbetweentoes comp. Please enter! I don’t want to have to give the book to my Mum!!

About laurahartson

www.sandbetweentoes.wordpress.com Visiting the world one country at a time!!

11 responses »

  1. Fraser Island really is great.. thanks for reminding me that I was there as well :))

    Reply
  2. The island is lovely. Thanks for sharing your photos.

    Reply
  3. I’ve been there too and it really was lovely. I loved swimming in Lake McKenzie…fond memories.

    Reply
  4. Fraser Island looks spectacular. I’ve since been to a few more islands in the Philippines. In these parts, you miss the surf though.

    Reply
  5. That is a great looking shipwreck.

    Reply
  6. Hello! As you know, I am a frequent visitor to your blog, and I truly consider it a gift. I absolutely love anything to do with art, crafts, handmade gifts, and/or photography! Therefore, I’ve awarded you with The Versatile Blogger Award! View my blog to see the details. I hope it helps to bring you new readers. 🙂 Best of luck and congrats! ~Pam

    Reply
  7. Gorgeous pics! I have to put that on my list for Australia. 🙂 I totally understand your disappointment with the Irish surfers. Especially when you were expecting Aussies all around. Or even a couple on hand.

    Reply
  8. That is gorgeous! Your photos are beautiful. (by the way I looked at your flag counter and I’m your 1000th American visitor. Woohoo. 🙂 )

    Reply
  9. I’d give my right arm to be there, what a gorgeous place, and lovely photos.

    Reply
  10. Now this would part of my dreams places to be. Just beautiful with promises of many adventures ahead. Amazing photos. Happy Holidays.

    Reply

Leave a comment