Turning Japanese

I recently had te pleasure of being asked to go on a business trip to Japan, and I jumped at the chance. Of course I wanted to go! The trip was five days in Tokyo to visit some clients, so I packed up a bag and boarded the plane. I had dreams of it being different to everything I had ever experienced, and I wasn’t wrong.

And I learned some interesting facts when I was there. I didn’t realise that the country itself was smaller in land mass than California, yet has a population of over one hundred and twenty-seven million people. Quite a lot for such a comparatively small space.

More than 70% of Japan consists of mountains with over two hundred volcanoes.

The architecture was amazing; I saw some of the most intricate palaces and temples that I have ever seen, and there is a completely different feel to that of the Western world.

Check out the pictures!!

The Japanese go mad for all things quirky and a bit out of the ordinary, so Manga (Japanese cartoons) and the macabre are big there. There is even a restaurant where you can eat food shaped  like pieces of the body and squirt sauce from a syringe, and all the waiters are dressed up as surgeons. I didn’t get a chance to go there but I would love to.

Unfortunately I spent most of my week in stuffy meeting rooms discussing stuff you don’t want to hear about, but I hope you enjoy the pictures I did manage to take! Work booked our Travel Insurance with Swiftcover, so have a look there!!

About laurahartson

www.sandbetweentoes.wordpress.com Visiting the world one country at a time!!

9 responses »

  1. thebigbookofdating

    great pics

    Reply
  2. come back …there are more to see..
    i hope u enjoy your five days though…

    Reply
  3. I love Japan. I went to Kyoto last summer and enjoyed every minute of it.

    Reply
  4. Awesome pictures and commentary – thanks so much for posting. 🙂

    Reply
  5. you are so lucky to be able to travel for free! 🙂 happy travels!

    Reply
  6. I love Japan! Went there last year and I miss it already! Your pics are great 🙂

    Katattack2000@wordpress.com

    Reply
  7. Well jealous of your recent travels! Miss and love Japan and I think I saw a photo of Cafe Veloce, one of my favourite places to unwind! I need to find a job that’ll allow me to travel more often!

    Reply
  8. Being in those meeting must have been torture! 🙂 Glad you go to see some of Tokyo on the company’s bill.

    Reply

Leave a comment