Courchevel

Courchevel is one of the most popular skiing resorts in the French alps, loved by the rich and famous and skiers and snowboarders all over the world. It’s part of Les Trois Vallees which is that largest linked ski area in the world, and it’s a really pretty region.

I’m not a massive skier but went as I didn’t want to miss out on the action, and I had previously snowboarded a little in Canada. I went with three other friends who love the powder, determined to try and love it a little, although secretly wishing we were embarking on a hot and humid holiday.

I spent the first couple of days pretty much 90% face down in snow, and the rest of the time enjoying the warm toddies in the little cafes. On the last two days I decided not to ski but to stay in the chateau and have a massage, read my book and relax out of the cold.

Skiing isn’t for me, but the region is simply beautiful and the après ski is to die for!

it can be pretty dangerous though so make sure that you take out Travel Insurance, and make sure that it covers you for winter sports!

About laurahartson

www.sandbetweentoes.wordpress.com Visiting the world one country at a time!!

9 responses »

  1. Ahhhhh, the French alps! I’m like you. I’d watch the snow from the comfort of the chalet with my book in one hand and a piping hot bevrage in the other. Mmmmmm!

    Reply
  2. Wow – what a beautiful region. All that snow is making my very hot day feel a little better. 🙂

    Reply
  3. Courcheval is the best skiing destination in my opinion, only place i ever ski!!!!!! beautiful pics xx

    http://www.thehappeningblog.com

    Reply
  4. Hi there,
    This takes me back. I lived here in Courchevel for a season 18 months ago. Feel like I know these photos all too well, fantastic place to live, and to ski. I learnt to ski fast here at the age of 29, and it was the best and most fun thing I ever did. Thanks for these on a grey late winter morning in Melbourne:)

    Reply
  5. Laura
    Thanks for stopping by my blog, just getting it started. I went snow-shoeing last year to Ceillac/French Alps, we also had Yoga time in the evening. The entire holiday was magic and I came home so fit!, even with the inclusive food/wine.
    Your photos are great. I love photography, swimming, getting sand between MY toes too.

    Reply
  6. Beautiful place in the Summer also. I had the opportunity to visit during the 2005 TdF, riding my bicycle up to the summit (before, not in, the race) and then back down to 1800m. There I found a hilltop near the town where I could watch the race on the jumbotron while enjoying my BBB – burgundy, brie, and bread – in relative solitude above the crowd, while still joining in the “Allez, allez, allez! and Bon courage!” shouts as the riders shot up the hill. The ridiculously fast, twisty, but smooth-pavement descent back to my hotel after Lance captured yellow was even more memorable!

    Since you’re taking suggestions for the bucket list: Meteora, Greece.

    Reply

Leave a comment