RSS Feed

The Dominican Republic – Paradise On Earth

Before I went to the Dominican Republic, I didn’t even know where it was. So when my friend suggested a last minute trip to the Caribbean thanks to some too-good-to-be-true offer that one of them had found, I could do nothing but accept.

Turns out that it is the second largest island in the Caribbean (thanks mother!) and the weather is always balmy and warm, but it’s not just an island of beaches. If you love paradise but need something to do other than swimming and basking in the sun then don’t discount The Dominican Republic as there are plenty of excursions to keep you occupied on your trip.

We stayed in Punta Cana which is on the east side of the island, and in a true girls holiday style we decided to go on the Saona Isle Catamaran tour. We expected a trip out to an island with all sorts if fun; barbeque, swimming and snorkelling off the boat, bathing in the sun and getting a chance to see some of the gorgeous Caribbean landscapes. And we weren’t disappointed.

It took a while to get there and one of my friends was a little travel sick, but once we were on the boat we had a great day. The highlight of the trip was a pit stop at a natural swimming pool where we could see star fish in the wild and swim in some of the clearest waters I have ever seen. It was an experience that I don’t think I will ever get again, and I had such a fantastic time.

The food at the BBQ was nothing like you would get in the UK; no overcooked sausages or burgers. We dined on BBQ chicken and fresh tropical fruit, with warm fresh bread and amazing salads…. The type of food that you crave when you are in the warm, all washed down with fresh fruit cocktails and copious amounts of water.

The hotel that we stayed in didn’t fail to disappoint either. There were acres of stunning gardens and a private sandy beach, and the pictures we took looked like they were straight out of a glossy magazine for some luxury travel provider. You could choose from a view of the gardens or a view of the beach, and for an extra cost a lovely lady would come out to your lounger and give you a massage if a day of sunbathing and doing nothing had got too much for you.

 

Needless to say, my trip to the Dominican gave me the deepest honey tan I had ever had. I took the time to use a high factor and ensure that I didn’t burn my skin and have to sit out of the fun for a few days (I’ve done this before and didn’t want to do it again, I miss out!)

About laurahartson

www.sandbetweentoes.wordpress.com Visiting the world one country at a time!!

9 responses »

  1. Excellent Photos And nice Post !

    Reply
  2. Love these pictures. I visited Domincan last summer (about now) and I want to go back! All of your pictures on this site are fantastic – you go to such amazing places!

    Reply
  3. No, u never do anything exciting at all! Very cool dr has gorgeous beaches.

    Reply
  4. OMG- That looks like heaven! Enjoy your time there!

    Reply
  5. Lovely pictures. Republica Dominicana is one of the places I would really like to visit. Nice blog!

    Reply
  6. very nice post.

    I will be in Punta Cana in Oct-Nov 2011, so your post was very helpful with beautiful photos as well.

    The Saona Isle Catamaran tour will be on my list of things to do since you made it sound so good.

    thanks again for the post.

    Blaqueberri

    Reply
  7. I’ve been browsing online more than three hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It’s pretty worth enough for me. In my opinion, if all web owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the internet will be much more useful than ever before.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

