RSS Feed

South Africa Safari

For the last week or so my posts have been a bit thin on the ground, and where I have posted, they have been scheduled. Why? Because I have been taking my summer holiday. IN AFRICA!!

If you have read the bucket list you will have seen that one of the things I have always wanted to do is to go on a safari, and I finally got the chance. So two weeks ago I got on a plane bound for the plains of Africa, ready to get my fill of wildlife. It was fantastic.

The Cape of Good Hope was where we started as I wanted to visit the fabled place where the Flying Dutchman is said to sail. If you don’t know the story, then legend has it that a ghost ship of condemned sailors sails around the cape, doomed for eternity to patrol the waters. Some sailors even say that they have seen the ghost ship, particularly in misty conditions. Sounds to me that they could just be seeing mist with overactive imaginations, but who am I to judge!

From the Cape of Good Hope we moved to the Kruger National Park, which is one of the most famous safari regions in the country. I was hoping to see all of the big five, and I wasn’t disappointed. The park was once used for hunters who made a living off the animals in the park, but it is now a place where endangered species can live protected from the poachers. It has a hot and humid feel, and the animals gathered at the watering holes, giving us a great chance to see them in their natural habitats.

The phrase ‘Big Five’ was coined by hunters as the hardest animals to hunt on foot. They are the lion, the African elephant, the cape buffalo, the leopard and the rhinoceros.

And I was lucky enough to see all but the lion. It was a shame, but the majesty of the elephants and the breathtaking presence of the leopard more than made up for it. Nights were spent in a luxury tent in the Game park, protected by our guides.

On the eve of our last day we were awoken to a bit of commotion outside the camp. We could hear our guides talking in hushed voices and wondered what the problem was. When we rose for breakfast the next day we were told that a rhino had meandered a bit close to the camp for their liking and they were trying to scare it away. I was so disappointed that I hadn’t got up!

We also went to the Ostrich farm, which was great fun. I love to see the ostriches, they are funny birds and look like they have a great personality!

Sadly I wasnt feeling well on the day that my group did white water rafting and couldn’t take part, as this is something I think I would have really enjoyed!

About laurahartson

www.sandbetweentoes.wordpress.com Visiting the world one country at a time!!

21 responses »

  1. I’m so envious and so happy for you! I hope you share more photos in the coming days! The Cape of Good Hope (rather ironically named) is a place I too have dreamed of.

    Reply
  2. I’d love to see Africa. I can’t imagine how it would feel to go on a safari. Great photos!

    Reply
  3. Wow! What an amazing adventure. :-) I’m so jealous, yet so glad you brought a little bit of Africa to me with your wonderful pictures and commentary. For now, I shall live vicariously through you!

    One day I’ll get there . . .

    Reply
  4. I was lucky enough to go on safari while visiting a friend who was working in S Africa a few years ago. It was one of the best experiences of my life! Thanks for sharing your pictures!

    Reply
  5. This is definitely a blog to live vicariously through.

    Gorgeous photos!
    The ostrich looks evil.

    Reply
  6. Lovely! Thank you for sharing, I love the photos! Especially the ones of the animals. ~Pam

    Reply
  7. This must have been great! I’ve never made it to Africa, but it’s on my list as well.

    Reply
  8. As probably everyone that commented on this post I would love to go to Africa and see wild animals not in the cages but running freely. I have to say the river for white water rafting looks scary, but I figure it’s a lot of fun! :) did any of the rafts flip over? ;)

    Reply
  9. Simply beautifully captured shots…lovely!

    Reply
  10. You were in my home town! Let me know if you want more pics of the Fair Cape… ;-)

    Reply
  11. The country where I was born and spent my childhood! We spent many many holidays exploring South Africa. Africa is such a beautiful, soulful land. The earth, the wide open skies, the vast landscape. <3

    I love the pic of the ostrich!

    Reply
  12. Yay for Africa! Looked like you had a fun trip in our neck of the woods…really enjoyed reading your posts – thanks for the comment and for the inspiration:)

    Reply
  13. LOVE the ostrich pic!! Your blog is amazing, still loving it :)

    Reply
  14. I’m going to South Africa in October, and you’ve just made me even more exited about my upcoming trip. BIG CATS!!

    Reply
  15. Thank you for these great pictures. It made me very nostalgic for home. Glad you liked my country. Safaris are great – every one of them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 115 other followers

